Symphonic Concert

Bibliotheca Alexandrina Orchestra

Balázs János (piano)

conductor: Hisham Gabr


The piano ruled Chopin’s imagination to such an extent that he did not desire any other sound around it, explaining the vast majority of solo compositions in his oeuvre. When leaving Poland, he abandoned the genres that occupied the orchestra, as short, subtle, and nuanced pieces were closer to his gentle and sensitive art form, inclined towards intimate confessions. It can also be observed in the two piano concerts that the composer enjoyed the meticulous and loving elaboration of details. János Balázs will play the No. 2 piano concerto in E minor, written a year earlier in F minor. This concert will be in honor of George Cziffra within the framework of the memorial year, played in a distant country, but not one foreign to Cziffra. After all, Cziffra’s devoted and faithful wife, Soleika, whom he first met in the bright Arizona “Rozsnyava couple” club, was a dancer of Egyptian descent.

Joint concert of the George Cziffra Memorial Year and the Bibliotheca Alexandrina Orchestra.

Brahms: Variation on a theme by Haydn
Chopin: Piano Concerto n2 in Fm Op.21
Beethoven: Symphony No 4 in Bb


   There is currently no date for this event.