Gala concert on the occasion of the 25th birthday of the Cziffra Stiftung


Performers: János Balázs (piano), Lajos Sárközy (violin), Nicole Henter (flute), Denys Dragan (piano)

(A joint event organised by the György Cziffra Memorial Year and the Cziffra Stiftung)

Moderation: Elisabeth Heresch

The Vienna-based Cziffra Stiftung has been preserving the artistic legacy of György Cziffra since 1997, has been working tirelessly to make the legendary’s pianist’s unique perspectives and champions young talents linked with the Stiftung by providing them with opportunities to excel. At this jubilee concert, such performers will celebrate the Stiftung’s anniversary who represent Cziffra’s ethos both as musicians and public figures, from and beyond Hungary. Naturally, their selection is based on Cziffra’s transcriptions as well as compositions readily played also by the piano virtuoso himself: The “high Romantic” universe of Liszt, Weber, Saint-Saëns and Brahms takes shape through burnished and lighter dances, opera excerpts and a texture of national motifs.

The concert is part of the Cziffra100 event series, takes place in the joint organisation of the Cziffra Stiftung Vienna and the Cziffra Festival Budapest.
The 100th anniversary of the birth of the world-famous Hungarian pianist György Cziffra is officially celebrated in Hungary as part of a Memorial Year, and has also been included by UNESCO in the list of anniversaries. The programmes of Cziffra100 are organised under the artistic leadership of pianist János Balázs, in a unique professional partnership with a number of institutions, orchestras and partners in Hungary as well as in the most significant cities of the music world. The Cziffra Memorial Year is supported by the Prime Minister’s Office, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade, with the help of the Bethlen Gábor Fund.



de Falla: Ritual Fire Dance

Saint-Saëns: Dance Macabre

Rimsky-Korsakov – Cziffra: Bumblebee (Denys Dragan – piano)

Saint-Saëns: Rondo Cappriccioso

Vecsey: Valse Triste

Sarasate: Zigeunerweisen (Lajos Sárközy – violin and János Balázs – piano)


Weber- Taffanel: Fantaisie on themes from “Der Freischütz”

J. Gade-T. L. Christiansen: Tango Fantasia (Nicole Henter –flute, piano accompaniment by Mennan Berveniku)

Liszt: Valse-impromptu

Schumann-Liszt: Widmung

Brahms-Cziffra: Hungarian Dances No 5 and 6

Liszt: Hungarian Rhapsody No 6 (János Balázs –piano)


   There is currently no date for this event.