The best of Franz Liszt

The concert will feature Piano Concerto No. 1, a piece so magnificent that it took Liszt over 25 years to complete, as well as Les Préludes, the best known of Liszt’s symphonic poems. This concert is for piano enthusiasts as Liszt was considered the greatest piano virtuoso of his time. János Balázs will perform solo piano and Pablo Mielgo will conduct.

Please note that attendees will be only admitted if they are fully vaccinated.

Pablo Mielgo, conductor
János Balázs, piano


The Qatar Philharmonic Orchestra pays tribute to Franz Liszt, one of the greatest composers in music literature. The soloist will be one of Hungary’s most in-demand pianists, János Balázs, known for his unique technical skills and lyrical performance style, and the orchestra will be conducted by Grammy-nominated Pablo Mielgo. The concert will feature both of Liszt’s popular piano concertos and his best-known symphonic poem ‘Les Préludes’, as well as a work by another world-famous Hungarian composer, Zoltan Kodály. The concert, on June 3 is a tribute not only to Liszt, but also to György Cziffra, the Hungarian piano virtuoso, who was born just over 100 years ago.

Franz Liszt, one of the most prolific composers of all time, is also still one of the most popular. His grandiose, virtuoso works, musical poetry and innovations continue to influence music today. He was the first true musical star to tour extensively and to have Europe, from Paris to Vienna, at his feet. His piano playing revolutionised the possibilities of the instrument, and continues to inspire generations of pianists to this day. János Balázs, Hungary’s multi-award-winning pianist, is the latest to continue this tradition. The link between Liszt and Balázs is György Cziffra, the Hungarian-born virtuoso pianist, who went from being a bar pianist in Budapest to a world-famous virtuoso, who not only inherited the tradition of Liszt’s piano playing from his teachers at the Liszt Academy of Music in Budapest, but also, through his gypsy roots, the tradition of improvisation and free, instinctive musical expression. The concert thus also pays tribute to Cziffra, whose memory János Balázs celebrates through his organisation of music and through this year’s commemorative activities around the world.

The concert, to be held in the Opera House in Katara Cultural Village, will be a combination of magnificent virtuosity, musical immersion and pure pleasure. The evening will start with Zoltán Kodály’s ’Dances of Galanta’, a symphonic poem derived from 18th-century Hungarian folk music. Following this, Liszt’s two great piano concertos will be performed, and the evening will end with his most popular orchestral work, ’Les Préludes’. The Piano Concerto No. 1 in E-flat major was composed over a period of 25 years, during which time Liszt mastered every detail of orchestral composition. The Piano Concerto No. 2 (in A major) was completed prior to the first concerto, but was titled ‘No. 2’ because its premiere took place after the premiere of the E-flat major concerto. ‘Les Préludes’ also took many years to conceive, and is a favourite of music-loving audiences, with its depiction of the complex struggle between the lows and highs of human life finally resulting in a positive, joyful ending symbolised by a triumphant march.

The Qatar Philharmonic Orchestra will be conducted by Pablo Mielgo.

János Balázs’s virtuosity and free, unique musical approach have made him one of the most authentic interpreters of Liszt. He is a born soloist who announced himself to the world at the beginning of his career by winning the ECHO (European Concert Hall Organisation) Rising Star “Artist of the Season” award. Since then audiences have delighted at his charismatic, sparkling and revolutionary performances alongside associates with a similar approach and orientation, such as Mischa Maisky, Vadim Repin, and Jose Cura. Balázs has been awarded nearly every professional and state accolade available in Hungary and is the youngest recipient so far of the prestigious Kossuth Prize. His Young Steinway Artist title, and an accolade from the State of Poland, conferred upon him for his performance of Frédéric Chopin’s complete works, stand out from among his international awards. Since 2021 he has been a corresponding member of the Hungarian Academy of Arts.


This concert is presented by the Qatar Philharmonic Orchestra in partnership with the Cziffra György Memorial Year organisation.


Zoltán Kodály: Dances of Galánta
Franz Liszt: Piano Concerto No. 1 in E-Flat Major, S. 124
Franz Liszt: Piano Concerto No. 2 in A Major, S. 125
Franz Liszt: Les Préludes, Symphonic Poem No. 3, S. 97


   There is currently no date for this event.