Giovanni Bertolazzi Photo1 (1)

Giovanni Bertolazzi


In 2021, Giovanni Bertolazzi won the 2nd Prize at the “Franz Liszt” International Piano Competition in Budapest, along with as well as five other special awards.

Born in Verona in 1998, Giovanni is currently studying under the guidance of Epifanio Comis.
He won more than 40 prizes in international piano competitions, including the 1st Prize at the “Siegfried Weishaupt” Piano Competition in Ochsenhausen (2017), the 1st Prize at the “Sigismund Thalberg” International Piano Competition in Naples (2018) and the 4th Prize at the “Ferruccio Busoni” International Piano Competition in Bolzano (2019).
In June 2019 he received the “Alkan Award for Piano Virtuosity” in Milano.
Since January 2020, Giovanni is artistically supported by Cultural Association “Musica con le Ali”.

Giovanni has performed at major venues including Teatro La Fenice in Venice, Fazioli Concert Hall in Sacile, Palazzo Pitti in Florence, Teatro Politeama Garibaldi in Palermo, “Franz Liszt” Academy of Music in Budapest, Landesmusikakademie in Ochsenhausen, Kadrioru Kunstimuuseum in Tallinn, Steinway Hall in London.
Highlights of his career include appearances with the Hungarian Philharmonic Orchestra (conducted by Vajda Gergely), the Orchestra del Teatro la Fenice (conducted by Maurizio Dini Ciacci) and the Orchestra Sinfonica Siciliana (conducted by Daniel Smith).
He officially performed on the World longest Concert-Grand Piano at his first public presentation, the BORGATO Grand-Prix 333 (3,33 metres long).

Giovanni Bertolazzi began his piano studies at the age of ten. He earned his Bachelor’s degree from “B. Marcello” Conservatory of Music in Venice with Massimo Somenzi.
He subsequently decided to continue his piano studies with Epifanio Comis at “V. Bellini” State Institute of Music in Catania, where he obtained his Master’s Degree with top honours.
During his studies, he also attended several piano masterclasses held by distinguished pianists and pedagogues such as Lily Dorfman, Joaquín Achúcarro, Matti Raekallio, Violetta Egorova, Boris Berezovsky and Jean-Efflam Bavouzet.