Martha Argerich and Mischa Maisky’s recital

Martha Argerich and Mischa Maisky are the brightest stars of the classical music scene, and they will be remembered by many generations to come. Their fans recognise their music by just a single note or phrase they play. The legendary relationship between the two world-famous virtuosos goes back half a century. Their characteristic vision and Romantic mindset are the never-ebbing spring of their joint music-making. Their fiery, energetic, always unique and uncompromising performances make these two artists singular. Every time they go on stage together marks a special day – and this is not the first time in the history of the Cziffra Festival to happen. This time, they will bring the great classic composers of the cello-piano repertoire to Müpa: for example, Beethoven’s most mature work in this genre, whose closing fugue is considered the forerunner of his later fantastic works. Schubert’s Sonata in A minor was written for a contemporary invention, the six-string Arpeggione, also called the “string guitar”. Although the aim of this composition was only to experiment with the instrument, after the arpeggione’s disappearance, it became one of the most beloved pieces of the cello repertoire. Grieg probably did not foresee the great success of his sonata either: He composed it during a tough time when he had to fight with himself for every single note he wrote. His struggle was ripened into the highest art in this composition.


Supporters: Prime Minister’s Office, Bethlen Gábor Fund


Beethoven: Sonata for Cello and Piano in D major, Op. 102/2.;

Schubert: Sonata for (Arpeggione) Cello and Piano in A minor


Grieg: Sonata for Cello and Piano in A minor, Op. 36





MÜPA, Bartók Béla National Concert Hall