Szabó Marcell Fotó Csibi Szilvia 01 1

Marcell Szabó


Marcell Szabó was born in Budapest in 1987. He started playing the piano at 8. In 1999, he enrolled to the Special School for Young Talents of the Liszt Ferenc Academy of Music and was accepted to the class of Gábor Eckhardt. In 2006, he was allowed to start his studies at the Liszt Academy, where he became the student of András Kemenes and György Nádor. He was then accepted as a guest student in the Brussels Royal Academy in the academic year of 2011/2012 where he studied under the tutorship of Jan Michiels. He graduated in 2012 and then in the same year he was granted the third prize among the adult age category at the V. International Chopin Piano Competition in Budapest. In the same year, he enrolled to the Doctoral School of the Liszt Academy. In 2014 he was awarded at three competitions: first prize of the VI. International Bartók Piano Competition then he collected the third prize at the XXXIII. Delia Steinberg International Piano Competition in Madrid and the first prize at the XVI. Internation Ile de france Piano Competition in Paris. In the year of 2015, a special committee chaired by Zoltán Kocsis elected him to be one of the musicians sponsored by Carreer Office of the Academy of Music. In Transsylvania, he won the second prize of the XX. Carl Filtsch Piano Competition in the same year.  At the end of 2015 he was awarded with Junior Prima Prize which is one of the most prestigeous award a young musician can achieve. In 2016,2017 and 2018 he was given the Annie Fischer Musical Scholarship.  In 2018 he launched the First Russian Music Festival as the artistic director in Budapest and in Debrecen. In 2019 he was awarded with the Cziffra Festival Talent Award.

So far, he participated in several masterclasses, including the ones held by such pianist as Dmitri Bashkirov, Zoltán Kocsis, Imre Rohmann and already played in the most renowned venues, like the Palace of Arts Budapest, the Great Hall of Franz Liszt Music Academy Budapest, Wiener Konzerthaus, Concertgebouw Amsterdam, Elbphilharmonie Hamburg,  Town Hall Birmingham.