Orchestre de la Suisse Romande, Balázs János, conductor: Eötvös Péter

Ensemble Contrechamps, Orchestre de la Haute École de Musique de Geneve 

This concert evokes the memory of one of the most exceptional musicians of the 20th century, György Cziffra. The event will encompass two Swiss premieres performed under the baton of Peter Eötvös, who composed his Cziffra Psodia for the 100th birthday of the legendary piano virtuoso. The work premiered at the gala concert held in the Béla Bartók National Concert Hall in Müpa, Budapest, on 5 November 2021, Cziffra’s actual birthday. The composer dedicated his work to the deserving heir of Cziffa’s legacy, the artistic director of the Cziffra Festival and the Cziffra Memorial Year, pianist János Balázs. The work was played in Budapest and later in Paris with Mikko Franck conducting the French Radio Orchestra and soloists János Balázs (piano) and Miklós Lukács (cimbalom). The Swiss premiere of the composition will take place in Geneva upon the invitation of the Festival Archipel, where the Orchestre de la Suisse Romande will play under Eötvös’ baton. They will also perform another piece by the master, Fermata, for the first time in Switzerland as well as Senk’s Change. In the second part of the concert, the legendary composer and conductor will be conducting Lutoslawski’s Concerto for Orchestra.

Eötvös: Fermata (premiere)

Senk: Change (premiere)

Eötvös: Cziffra Psodia – (premiere)


Lutoslawski: Concerto


   There is currently no date for this event.